Enabling manager access privilege (optional)

In the default RADIUS operation, the switch automatically admits any authenticated client to the login (operator) privilege level, even if the RADIUS server specifies enable (manager) access for that client. Thus, an authenticated user authorized for the manager privilege level must authenticate again to change privilege levels. Using the optional login privilege-mode command overrides this default behavior for clients with enable access. That is, with privilege-mode enabled, the switch immediately allows enable (manager) access to a client for whom the RADIUS server specifies this access level.


aaa authentication login privilege-mode
no aaa authentication login privilege-mode

When enabled, the switch reads the Service-Type field in the client authentication received from a RADIUS server. The following table describes the applicableService-Type values and corresponding client access levels the switch allows upon authentication by the server.

Service-type value



Client access level







Any other type

Any value except 6 or 7

Access Denied

This feature applies to console (serial port), Telnet, SSH, and WebAgent access to the switch. It does not apply to 802.1X port-access.


While this option is enabled, a Service-Type value other than 6 or 7, or an unconfigured (null) Service-Type causes the switch to deny access to the requesting client.

The no form of the command returns the switch to the default RADIUS authentication operation. The default behavior for most interfaces is that a client authorized by the RADIUS server for Enable (manager) access will be prompted twice, once for Login (operator) access and once for Enable access. In the default RADIUS authentication operation, the WebAgent requires only one successful authentication request. For more information on configuring the Service Type in your RADIUS application, see the documentation provided with the application.